Month: May 2013

  • A New Home

    An entry overdue, but one significant enough not to miss. 

    On 31st January 2013, my family and I officially moved from our dear Taman Universiti Indah home to the neighborhood next door called Taman Equine. 

    We lived in Taman Universiti Indah (such a mouth full, isn’t it?) since 1993, having stayed in two other locations also within Seri Kembangan.. and prior to that in Klang. Describing the place simply as “the place where I grew up” doesn’t do it justice, being the place where I spent my entire time growing up. All my major exams in Primary and Secondary school, college, parts of university life. Where all the dramas unfolded, happy memories, sad memories, times of anger, times of confusion.. all experienced under this very roof which often leaked at my parents bedroom. It’s an average terrace house on top of the hill, offering a nice view. 

    My old room.. in it’s original messy state

    The only major complaint I had with the place was parking. It seemed that I’m the only person living on that street which had to park the car two streets away due to a lack of space while everyone else conveniently parked along the narrow road plus an idiotic family which lived on a corner lot taking a disproportionate 4 parking. 

    Anyway, onward to the new place. In mid 2007, my father told me that he was planning to buy a piece of land to build a new house. I thought he was joking as I expected to live in our Taman U house pretty much forever. Less than 6 years later, after more than a year’s worth of delays from the original shift in date we finally moved in (we originally intended to move in in time for CNY 2012, but instead had to settle for CNY 2013, which excludes at least 2-3 other postponements).

    The place was designed by my father, who of course is a qualified architect. He wanted an open concept, friendly to the environment, hence preserving trees. The design of the house revolves around several trees. In fact a main feature of the house are two trees through an opening in the center. At the moment, the lots surrounding the house are not yet developed and hence left the trees in its virgin state, full of trees. You could say that I live in a jungle. There is an opportunity to see wildlife daily and swarms of mosquitoes to keep one busy. 

      

     

     A mini enclosure for the cats.

     Almost five months on, this place is slowly starting to warm up. The first week was a little difficult as it felt like I was staying in a hotel where I did not belong. Trying to get used to the new routine driving home.

    There is still much to be done. The fish pond at the back of the house has the longest way to go. None of the picture frames are hung up. The list goes on. Anyway, it’s great to call this place home.. and really good to finally be able to park the car just a few meters away from my room. 

     

  • Inside a Cats Ear

    Recently my cat, Remy, had been scratching up his ears a little more than usual. There seemed to be some infection, with darkish fluids secreting from his ears. Initially I thought it was nothing more than normal cat ear wax discharge, but my mom insisted it was something more. We decided to take him to the vet.

    Wow, what a surprise we were in for. 

    The vet took a simple swab from Remys ear and placed the dark stains under an electronic microscope. We were then in for a treat. There were micro-mites in his ear!

     

    It was like a flipping aquarium, mites and eggs swimming everywhere like freaking cockroaches. What an eye opener. 

       

    Unseen to the naked eye.. a hive of activity inside a cats ear..

    So, are you aware what’s going on in your cats ear? I certainly wasn’t until now. Apparently this thing is highly infectious, so if there are lots of dark stuff inside your cats ears.. best to get it checked out and medicated. Cats which are allowed to roam outdoor have a higher tendency to obtain this infection. 

     

    Remy turned his while when I tried snapping his ear and gave us some How To Train Your Dragon action. This pic has nothing to do with the mite entry.  

     

    Video taken in the vet showing micro mites swimming around. Enjoy!

     

     

May 2013
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031